Reviews prior to 2010

These are the Amazon Reviews from my selfpublishing exercise.

My favourite review.."Those who order their bookshelves according to quality, should be prepared to clear space for this exciting and innovative new series."
I  thank all those who took the time to write reviews, some for Amazon, others elsewhere...

These reviews are from the original two book version of Exiled.  
Exiled: Winter's Plight is now to be released as Exiled: Autumn's Peril and Exiled: Winter's Curse.

Exiled: Summer's Peril is to be released as Exiled: The Legacy of Lathraine's Pledge and  Exiled: The Battle for Enderseer Hold.

EXILED: WINTER'S PLIGHT now appearing as....


Published by BOOKSURGE 2005

5.0 out of 5 stars dreamOn's review, December 5, 2005
dreamOn -

This novel is wonderful. It is packed with intense action sequences. The setting is unlike anything I've ever seen before. I feel intrigued to read just so I can find out more about this world that the author has created. The adventure is presented using a beautiful style of writing. The scenes are so easy to visualize. The background is clearly well thought out. Foreshadows of events to come are hinted all throughout the story, encouraging me to keep turning the pages. Every chapter ends with a cliffhanger, preventing me from putting this book down.
I haven't read a novel this epic in a long time. I highly recommend this.

5.0 out of 5 stars Exiled: Winter's Plight: An Exhilarating Read!, December 7, 2005
Funnyface "Funnyface" (Canada) -

Settle in for some exhilarating reading of a not-to-be-missed novel. Ms Skinner takes us on a unforgettable journey into a world of fantasy and sorcerers.Filled with action, adventure and intrigue, "Exiled: Winter's Plight," grips and holds the readers attention.. Great dialogue, well developed characters; an intriguing plot makes this a must read novel.I will be looking forward to book Two.

4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!, December 6, 2005
S. Lloyd -

Book 1 of a rapidly growing series, Exiled: Winter's Plight will hook the teens of the familly. Packed with action, well developed and described good-guys and bad-guys, inner and outer combat, you can't help but like the engaging hero, Caleath. Let's give Ms. Skinner a thumbs up!

5.0 out of 5 stars Double thumbs up!, February 7, 2008
Mathew James "the Red Lion" (Ohio United States) -

I ordered both book one and two at the same time and was really looking forward to exploring Skinner's own fantasy setting.
The setting itself brings to mind echoes of the "Shadowrun" universe, and to a lesser extent "Ghost in the Shell" yet still manages to mix in a good amount of original flavor to the pie. Anyone familiar with these settings or ever read an OMNI magazine will be completely at home with Ms Skinner's epic tale.
I was quite surprised how lyrically blessed the book is. Each sentence and chapter is detailed enough to sit you in the middle of what is unfolding, making it easy to see and feel the characters.
The characters themselves, Ill be honest - at first didn't excite me as much as I wanted them too. At first they seem a little cliche - again if you've ever read an OMNI magazine, ideas like microscopic nano bots and futuristic cities on other planets are far from new to you.
BUT - I think after the first battle and you really start to see Caleath's struggle with what he has become and what he is trying to escape, from those who pursue him and his own inner demons.
It's this story of personal struggle that I fell in love with - making the characters a reality and stepping away from being another cliche scifi. It's a well know fact - give a hero a fault or two and you give him depth .So at this point I began to start caring about Caleath and was drawn further into the novel.
I'd really recommend this book(s) to anyone familiar to the genre of dirty futuristic type fantasy blend.
Double thumbs up Mum Le'Cat - keep em coming !

5.0 out of 5 stars My Awe for the writing talent of Rosalie Skinner in Winter's Plight, February 1, 2006
Ruth Williams "Ruth Williams" (Tulsa Area, Oklahoma) -

I am completely in awe of Ms Skinner's book on the Chronicles of Caleath Exiled: Winter's Plight. Ms Skinner has written an epic adventure that, in my own personal opinion, has no close competition. I've seen all the Lord of the Rings movies, and others, including books that are similar but absolutely NONE can come close to this new series. For attention getting writing I recommend Ms Skinners books to everyone. This is one time every penny is well worth it.Ms Skinner has the ability to put you INTO each scene where you can see, hear, smell, and feel your surroundings as you read. AWESOME! The very best in years.

5.0 out of 5 stars Exiled: Winter's Plight - Compelling and innovative, December 11, 2005
T. S. Westwood (UK) -

Winter's Plight is a highly original, action packed and enthralling novel. The first installment of an epic series, Ms Skinner draws the reader into her world with vivid imagery, stirring characters and intense action. Swept along by her powerful and distinctive writing style, the rich plots and subplots ensure the reader is hooked to the end.

Those who order their bookshelves according to quality, should be prepared to clear space for this exciting and innovative new series.

EXILED: SUMMER'S PERIL now appearing as...

EXILED: Summer's Peril
Published by BOOKSURGE 2005
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, May 16, 2006
Maggie May Schill (Jacksonville, FL)

EXILED: Summer's Peril is beautifully crafted. This piece reads like prose and flows with a natural lucidity from beginning to end. The Protagonist has a lot of depth and takes on all adversaries in a stylish and believable manner, with a great portrayal of inner conflict. All characters are expertly developed and only accent the vividly complicated plot. Great read over all.

5.0 out of 5 stars A great series for fantasy/scifi lovers, May 8, 2006
jj Carter (Northern NSW Australia)

I really enjoyed these two books. Lots of emotion and tension plus drama. They keep you turning the pages, especially as you get to know the characters. A great read!

When the books are released in Print through Museitup, I will probably be removing my self published books from circulation. So these reviews would be lost. I appreciate the time and effort of readers who posted them and wouldn't want them lost. So they are archived here.